Minutes of the Special Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fairfield Public School District No. 112, Wayne County, Illinois, held in the District Board Room, 200 West Center, Fairfield, Illinois, on Monday, April 29, 2019.

AGENDA #1 – Call to Order – The meeting was called to order at 6:00 P.M. by President Dan Coomer, who directed the Secretary to call the roll.

AGENDA #2 – Roll Call – The Secretary called the roll and the following members answered to their names as called and were found to be present:

Scott Foster, Shane Neuman, Andrew Miller, Dan Coomer, Jason McCulley Members Absent: Carrie Newman, Gene Kollak

There being a quorum present, the President declared the Board of Education to be in session for the transaction of business.

OTHERS PRESENT:

E. Scott England, Superintendent; April Smith, Center Street Principal; Amy Sager, incoming Member; Angie Koontz, incoming Member; Ronald Koontz, citizen; Maggie Koontz, citizen/student

AGENDA #3 – Citizens – Non-Agenda Items. None.

AGENDA #4 – Seat New Board Members and Appoint Board Member

4.1 A motion was made by Member Andrew Miller to proclaim the results of the election and to elect the following as members of the Board of Education: Scott Foster, Amy Sager, and Angela (Angie) Koontz. The motion was seconded by member Shane Neuman, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Shane Neuman, Dan Coomer, Andrew Miller, Scott Foster, Jason McCulley Members Absent: Carrie Newman, Gene Kollak The President declared the motion passed.

4.2 A motion was made by Member Andrew Miller to appoint Shane Neuman to fulfill an unexpired term, 2 year term which expires in 2021. The motion was seconded by member Scott Foster, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Andrew Miller, Dan Coomer, Jason McCulley, Scott Foster Members Abstaining: Shane Neuman Members Absent: Carrie Newman, Gene Kollak The President declared the motion passed.

- 4.3 Seat New Board Members
- 4.4 Lead All Elected Board Members in the Oath of Office

AGENDA #5 – Adjourn Sine Die (Indefinitely)

A motion was made by Member Shane Neuman to adjourn sine die since there was no further business to come before this Board. The motion was seconded by Member Scott Foster, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Shane Neuman, Dan Coomer, Andrew Miller, Jason McCulley, Scott Foster Members Absent: Carrie Newman, Gene Kollak The President declared the motion passed.

AGENDA #6 – Selection of Officers Pro Tem

- 6.1 A motion was made by member Shane Neuman to elect member Dan Coomer as President pro tem. The motion was seconded by member Scott Foster. There were no other nominations for President pro tem.
- 6.2 A motion was made by member Scott Foster to elect member Jason McCulley as Secretary pro tem. The motion was seconded by member Shane Neuman. There were no other nominations for Secretary pro tem.

AGENDA #7 Call Meeting to Order by President Pro Tem – The meeting was called to order at 6:09 P.M. by the President pro tem who directed the Secretary pro tem to call the roll. The Secretary pro tem called the roll and the following members answered to their names as called and were found to be present:

Angie Koontz, Dan Coomer, Amy Sager, Scott Foster, Shane Neuman, Jason McCulley Members Absent: Carrie Newman

There being a quorum present, the President pro tem declared the Board of Education to be in session for the transaction of business.

AGENDA #8 – Resolution Regarding Terms of Offices

A Motion was made by member Scott Foster to approve the terms of office as a two-year period through the next school board member election for the President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The motion was seconded by member Shane Neuman and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Amy Sager, Shane Neuman, Dan Coomer, Jason McCulley, Angie Koontz, Scott Foster Members Absent: Carrie Newman

The President pro tem declared the motion passed.

AGENDA #9 – Election of Officers

- 9.1 A motion was made by member Shane Neuman to nominate member Dan Coomer as President of the Board. The motion was seconded by member Scott Foster. There were no other nominations for President.
- 9.2 A motion was made by member Shane Neuman to nominate member Scott Foster as Vice-President of the Board. The motion was seconded by member Amy Sager. There were no other nominations for Vice-President.
- 9.3 A motion was made by member Amy Sager to nominate member Angela Koontz as Secretary of the Board. The motion was seconded by member Scott Foster. There were no other nominations for Secretary.
- 9.4 A motion was made by member Shane Neuman to appoint Katherine Schmitz as District's Treasurer. The motion was seconded by member Angela Koontz.

AGENDA #10 – Set Remaining Dates/Locations for Regular Board Meetings

A Motion was made by member Scott Foster to set the following Monday dates as Board Meeting Dates: May 20, 2019; June 24, 2019; and July 15, 2019. The motion was seconded by member Shane Neuman and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Angie Koontz, Dan Coomer, Scott Foster, Jason McCulley, Amy Sager, Shane Neuman Members Absent: Carrie Newman

The President declared the motion passed.

AGENDA #11 – Closed Session to Discuss Information Regarding Appointment, Employment, Retirement, or Dismissal of an Employee, Labor Relations, Collective Negotiations, Litigation, and Student Discipline (5ILCS 120/2a)

A motion was made by member Shane Neuman that the Board enter Closed Session at the hour of 6:16 P.M. The motion was seconded by member Scott Foster, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Dan Coomer, Angie Koontz, Jason McCulley, Scott Foster, Shane Neuman, Amy Sager Members Absent: Carrie Newman

The President declared the motion passed.

A motion was made by member Jason McCulley that the Board end the Closed Session at the hour of 6:33 P.M. The motion was seconded by member Shane Neuman, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Jason McCulley, Dan Coomer, Scott Foster, Amy Ssager, Angie Koontz, Shane Neuman Members Absent: Carrie Newman

The President declared the motion passed.

AGENDA #12 – Action Items

12.1 A motion was made by member Shane Neuman to accept the resignation of Nathaniel Lackey as assistant coach and 5th/6th grade boys' basketball coach. The motion was seconded by member Scott Foster, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Dan Coomer, Jason McCulley, Angie Koontz, Shane Neuman, Amy Sager, Scott Foster Members Absent: Carrie Newman

The President declared the motion passed.

12.2 A motion was made by member Scott Foster to employ Bryce Kovacich as Center Street Physical Education teacher. The motion was seconded by member Shane Neuman, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Amy Sager, Scott Foster, Dan Coomer, Jason McCulley, Shane Neuman, Angie Koontz Members Absent: Carrie Newman

The President declared the motion passed.

AGENDA #14 – Information Items

Dr. England gave new Board members upcoming dates for 8th grade events.

AGENDA #15 – Adjournment

A motion was made by member Shane Neuman that the meeting adjourn at 6:39 P.M. The motion was seconded by member Scott Foster, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Scott Foster, Dan Coomer, Amy Sager, Shane Neuman, Angie Koontz, Jason McCulley Members Absent: Carrie Newman

The President declared the motion passed.

President		